The title says a lot about my thoughts and a lot can be inferred from it: bleary eyes, dry mouth (okay, that might be the wine…), words blurring, sagging energy.

But here’s the update:

I’ve been reading The Two Towers for the vast majority of Dewey’s readathon, and gotten over 500 pages into it (full disclosure: it’s one of the itty bitty ones. But still). As much love as I still have for the prose and the characters and the world that’s sucking me in in a way only the likes of J.R.R Tolkien can do, I had to stop. The words were blurring together and I was missing entire paragraphs because I had been reading too long, even after a 4-hour break to attend semi-formal.

Yes, I wore a pretty dress. When I got home at 10 p.m. I tore it all off and went back to my “Keep Calm and Let It Go” Frozen shirt.

I made two more valiant attempts including The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon by Brad Stone and Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. From the former, I learned that if you type relentless.com into your search bar, Amazon will come up. Because Bezos is just the kind of guy you want to work for if you’re looking for a good work-life balance. The latter, I definitely absolutely whole-heartedly want to read. I just can’t give it my all tonight.

I’m also too attached to my evening and morning routine. How am I going to mediate with a readathon hangover? The other hard reality is finals week. It’s starts on Tuesday, folks, and I’ve gotta be ready.

Until next time, readers.

 

